When I get older, I will be stronger

Wavin’ Flag – K’naan

When I get older, I will be stronger
They’ll call me freedom, just like a wavin’ flag

When I get older, I will be stronger
They’ll call me freedom, just like a wavin’ flag
And then it goes back
And then it goes back
And then it goes back
Ohhhhh

Born to a throne, stronger then Rome
A violent prone, poor people zone
But it’s my home, all I have known
Where I got grown, streets we would roam
Out of the darkness, I came the farthest
Among the hardest survivors
Learn from these streets, it can be bleak
Except no defeat, surrender, retreat
So we strugglin’, fightin’ to eat
And we wonderin’, when we’ll be free
So we patiently wait for that fateful day
It’s not far away, but for now we say…

So many wars, settlin’ scores
Bringin’ us promises, leavin’ us poor
I heard ‘em say, love is the way
Love is the answer, that’s what they say
But look how they treat us
Make us believers, we fight their battles
Then they deceive us
Tried to control us, they couldn’t hold us
Cuz we just moved forward like Buffalo Soldiers
But we strugglin’, fightin’ to eat
And we wonderin’, when we’ll be free
So we patiently wait for that fateful day
It’s not far away, but for now we say…

Ohhhhhhh…
Ohhhhhhh…
Ohhhhhhh…

And everybody will be singing it
And you and I will be singing it
And we all will be singing it

Ohhhhhhh…
Ohhhhhhh…
Ohhhhhhh…

When I get older; when I get older
I will be stronger, just like a wavin’ flag
Just like a wavin’ flag, just like a wavin’ flag
Flag, flag, just like a wavin’ flag

17 responses to “When I get older, I will be stronger

  1. “When I get older,” okay I think I get the birthday reference now! :D

  2. Theres a slight reference but really I just liked both the lyrics and melody of this song. Its the post before this that was on my birthday. And that relates more to what I was kinda thinking at the time.

  3. Thank you for putting up the song and the lyrics.
    Once in a while, there will be a song that is so unique and outstanding.
    I have a wide taste of music (from heavy metal hard rock to generic original classic). This one melts right into my bone.

  4. BTW. Lucky u to get to go to all those good places, Istanbul, Epypt!!
    They are full of cultures for one to embrace.

  5. GeekiSiddiqui

    SK: Yes, I’ve been very lucky and blessed to have travelled as much as I have :)

  6. Hey gud song, i heard it only fifa 2010 promo was going on …it lures me….

  7. This song is the best ever heard.Its awesome.K’NAAN you are incredible.Keep up the good work.U r the greatest artist present.Hope freedom and peace to your land.God bless you.

  8. Len-----wavin' flag;)

    Great song;)

  9. Just fantastic.

  10. A great inspiring song…

  11. nice song.. inspirational.. and unique.

  12. Thank you very much for displaying this song for me from the website.I love this song you see I may turn in another way as : When we are independence we will be stronger for more freedom just like a wavin flags awavin flag.Iam South Sudanese and we are preparing for our referendum that will kick very soon after two weeks and we will ‘ve more freedoms to wave our flag with a yellow star like the rest of nations of the world.
    Thank

  13. When I get older wavin' flag;)

    Thank you for likeing my song here is the hole song I’ll type it
    When I get older, I will be stronger
    They’ll call me freedom, just like a wavin’ flag

    When I get older, I will be stronger
    They’ll call me freedom, just like a wavin’ flag
    And then it goes back
    And then it goes back
    And then it goes back
    Ohhhhh

    Born to a throne, stronger then Rome
    A violent prone, poor people zone
    But it’s my home, all I have known
    Where I got grown, streets we would roam
    Out of the darkness, I came the farthest
    Among the hardest survivors
    Learn from these streets, it can be bleak
    Except no defeat, surrender, retreat
    So we strugglin’, fightin’ to eat
    And we wonderin’, when we’ll be free
    So we patiently wait for that fateful day
    It’s not far away, but for now we say…

    So many wars, settlin’ scores
    Bringin’ us promises, leavin’ us poor
    I heard ‘em say, love is the way
    Love is the answer, that’s what they say
    But look how they treat us
    Make us believers, we fight their battles
    Then they deceive us
    Tried to control us, they couldn’t hold us
    Cuz we just moved forward like Buffalo Soldiers
    But we strugglin’, fightin’ to eat
    And we wonderin’, when we’ll be free
    So we patiently wait for that fateful day
    It’s not far away, but for now we say…

    Ohhhhhhh…
    Ohhhhhhh…
    Ohhhhhhh…

    And everybody will be singing it
    And you and I will be singing it
    And we all will be singing it

    Ohhhhhhh…
    Ohhhhhhh…
    Ohhhhhhh…

    When I get older; when I get older
    I will be stronger, just like a wavin’ flag
    Just like a wavin’ flag, just like a wavin’ flag
    Flag, flag, just like a wavin’ flag
    Thank you everybody.

  14. I like this song

Leave a Reply

