Makkah and Medinah – Umrah Trip

Earlier this month I went to Saudi Arabia with my Mom and Sister for Umrah (unfortunately my Dad couldn’t go because he had to stay home and take care of my Grandmother). My parents went for Hajj last year and after they told me about it I really wanted to go. We arrived in Makkah and went straight to the hotel. It was from the hotel room window where I first got to see Kaaba. I’m not entirely sure why but although I was very excited to see it a part of me felt kind of nervous and apprehensive about it as well.

We quickly put our luggage away and went to Masjid al-Haram. Its sooo massive! (I found out later the Masjid, not counting the streets and other outside areas where people also pray at times, as a capacity of over 850,000!!!) Walking in before I knew it I was right there infront of Kaaba. It was so odd/incredible/wow to be right there. It was a lot bigger, particularly taller than I expected.

I remember when I was there, there was so much I wanted to say. So many things to describe. But I’m having trouble trying to describe it correctly now as well as I can’t recall everything I wanted to say at the time.

It was incredible to be right infront of it. To pray infront of it. For Fajr and a few other prayers I was within the first 8 or so rows right infront of it. I was amazed about the number of people there. When praying up close to see the line curve as you look left and right. When further back it seems as the line when standing for prayers is endless on either side of you. And not only was the number of people amazing but how they were from all over the world. All sorts of middle-eastern, south-asian, east-asian (there were tons of chinese, malaysian, japanese etc), african, and although easily the smallest group I did see some white people as well.

With the 5 prayers, doing Umrah everyday, some sightseeing and the heat (and it was really hot) it was incredibly tiring. We didn’t sleep very much at all. And doing Umrah was tiring.

Your feet really start to hurt and get dry walking on hard ground so much.

During Namaaz and Tawaf and Saae I prayed so much. While at Masjid al-Haram now that I think of it, my thoughts never really strayed too much. I mean yes my thoughts wandered from time to time but from what I remember they wandered from praying to what to pray for. Which isn’t wandering too far. I had so much time to pray for so many things I think I remembered pretty much everyone at one point or another. And I did pray in general for anyone I might have forgotten as well. I prayed for a lot of important and big things and with so much time there and constantly praying I prayed for some of the smallest things as well. Which I realized while I was doing it but it came to mind so why not hehe.

I loved out outside the Masjid families were all just sitting around eating and kids were playing games. It was like they were on a picnic. Of course everyone was respectful of where they were but they were relaxed and enjoying where they were. And kids from all over the world…all on those roller shoes and playing hehe. It was really nice.

The first 2 days in Makkah it wasn’t too crowded. I was able to easily walk up to Kaaba and touch it. And go pray in the Hateem area. I wasn’t able to get to Al-Hajar al-Aswad, the black stone on the corner of Kaaba that was still pretty crowded and there was a lot of pushing going on there. Though somehow on the 3rd day when it started to get even more crowded my sister managed to get in and kiss it. She said people were pushing from both sides of her once she got there but they were oddly pushing her more into it than away.

My uncle told me a story about when he and my Nani were there for Hajj a few years ago. He was pushing my Nani in a wheelchair while doing Tawaf and it was so crowded and there was so much pushing that while they were in the crowd even though he wasn’t pushing (or pulling) they moving Horizontally! So much so that the rubber covering on the wheelchair wheels came off. Fortunately neither of them were hurt in the pushing and they were able to get out of the crowd, fix the wheelchair and everything turned out fine.

On the 3rd day in Makkah my Uncle and his family came from Riyadh. It was so great to see them! I hadn’t seen them in about 12 years or so. We only got to spend about 1.5 days with them but still it was nice to spend some time with them.

After Makkah we went to Medinah. The Hotel was right outside Al-Masjid al-Nabawi (which was also massive, 600,000 capacity). I don’t have any pictures of the inside (I could write about more about that and some other things that reminds me of, but in such a great experience I’ll stick to the positives). But the inside was amazing! The ceilings, chandeliers, the artwork, the pillars, everything was simply amazing. And you could see where the old masjid and the new masjid areas meet but both are extremely well done. That was a great thing in Makkah too, you could see the new parts as well as the old sections. Oh and at first I didn’t like how there were hotels right next to the compound but then I found out its all on leased land and the government will take it back to further expand the Masjids as required. So then I didn’t mind so much.

Oh and in Makkah I went to this one restaurant that had great great lamp chops! I went there 3 days in a row!

Back to Medinah, the temperature there was slightly cooler (barely, it was still low and mid 30s) but there was more walking directly in the Sun. I think it was the hot temperature outside and then the cold temperature in the hotel that caused me to get sick 😦 so I didn’t do too much in Medinah. Though I did go on a tour and see everything on 1 day. Like the Masjid in which direction for Qibla changed in mid-namaaz.

Overall the trip was just an amazing amazing experience. I learned a lot, I saw a ton, and it was just incredible feeling to be there. InshaAllah I (and everyone else) will get to go again for Hajj some day and just be able to go there again, many times.

If I had to choose which I liked better between Makkah and Medinah…well Medinah is much more relaxed. But I’d definitely choose Makkah. Theres a feeling of intensity there. Like I can say InshaAllah anywhere at anytime, but when I said it there it just felt so much more powerful and a stronger sense of it would happen.

K, thats all for now. Below are some pictures. Not at all in order but oh well.

My cousin Aneequa and I.

The tents in the Muzdalifah where people stay during Hajj.

The tents in the Muzdalifah where people stay during Hajj

Random city shot in Makkah.

Picture from my hotel room in Medinah.

The door of Kaaba.

Inside Al-Masjid al-Nabawi, the resting place of Prophet Muhammed.

Al-Hajar al-Aswad, the black stone on the corner of Kaaba.

A new hotel being built outside of Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Outside Masjid al-Haram in Makkah facing the hotel I was staying at.

Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Kids playing outside Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Myself wearing Ihram.

My cousin Aneequa.

Mountains!

Random city shot in Makkah. Mountains!

Inside of a Date Factory, I got these almond stuffed Dates there...sooo good

Inside of a Date Factory, I got these almond stuffed Dates there...sooo good

A date factory in Medinah.

Kaaba & Masjid al-Haram in Makkah

Kaaba

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah (capacity of over 600,000)

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah

Gabalay Rahmat outside of Makkah

Gabalay Rahmat outside of Makkah

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah

Kaaba & Masjid al-Haram in Makkah (capacity of over 850,000 not including the streets, etc outside where people also start to pray).

Kaaba & Masjid al-Haram in Makkah (capacity of over 850,000 not including the streets, etc outside where people also start to pray).

Masjid al-Haram in Makkah (repeating b/c I really like this pic).

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in Medinah

Al-Masjid al-Nabawi in MedinahIn Medinah

Another masjid in Medinah

Medinah

Medinah

Medinah

Random Makkah City Shot

Random Makkah City Shot

Random Makkah City Shot

Random city shot in Makkah

Random city shot in Makkah

Random Makkah City Shot

Random Makkah city shot

Random Makkah city shot

Random Makkah city shot

Theres a few more pictures that you can see HERE.

32 responses to “Makkah and Medinah – Umrah Trip

  1. I’m the first one to comment on your new site, yay!

    Beautiful pictures… seeing them and having you describe your experience reminded me how much I would love to go. My parents and sister went for Hajj a few years ago and also came back re-charged and ready to go again. I hope my day comes soon for Hajj and also Umrah… one day soon, inshallah 🙂

  2. Simply superb pictures! Did you take the picture of the kaaba door? And no one said anything? Was taking pictures allowed?

    I am planning to go too, once I am married and stuff and hopefully few years down the road once I decided I am not gonna be a sinful character any more lol.

  3. Salaams,

    Alhmudullillah, the pictures you took are beautiful. I’m glad you had such an amazing experience. Inshallah, I too will go one day.

    HS

  4. Liya: yay my first comment! hehe. InshaAllah you’ll get to go soon.

    Haleem: The pictures inside are not actually by me. They are pictures of pictures on a Calendar I bought. I didn’t feel comfortable taking pictures inside. Its not allowed but I saw many people doing so. It was rather bad, with 1 hand saying Allah O’Akhbar and the other hand either cell phone/camera/shoes. Or people doing Tawaf while taking a video while walking around. I think if you’re right there you should really try to concentrate on the reason your there. Except for two or three pictures the rest are by me.

    HS: Thanks, it really was amazing. InshaAllah you’ll get to go soon.

  5. Umra mabrook! It’s so nice to read about your amazing experience. I went for Hajj last year but wasn’t able to make to Madinah because my mom got really sick and we had to leave the country in a hurry, so your description of the city was great. Did you feel much of a different between the hospitality of the two cities? I’ve always heard that Makkans take their responsibility as the protectors of the Kaba seriously, while Madinans still take on the role as the Ansar (friends)?

    Your cousin and I share the same name…though I think she spells her’s nicer. =)

  6. Welcome to WP! Trips sounds amazing! Inshallah we wish to go soon. Alhumdulillah you were able to make the journey.

  7. The pictures are breath taking and your blog are interesting. I always wonder about the Hajj trip. Now I know how is it.

  8. I bookmarked this page. Seeing these pictures makes me want to go back again sometime.

  9. Salaam these are beautiful pic’s And the blog is cool. He!He!He!.Ramadan Mubarak May Allah make it easy for all of us

  10. im going for umrah today inshalah and came across your website. It does a good job of giving a personal story of what one can expect.
    thank you and jazak allah.

  11. BanikaB: Thanks! Yeah everyone tells me the people in Makkah are more strict but it seemed about the same time to me. I saw more kids and families together in Makkah so it actually seemed more friendly to me. But it wassn’t Hajj season so maybe its different then.

    Mousehunter: InshaAllah!

    K.E.: Thanks! 🙂

    Mezba: Yeah, the pictures make me feel the same too.

    zingtrail: Thanks and thanks 🙂 Ramadan Mubarak to you as well and Inshaallah.

    adnan dawood: I’m glad you found it useful and inshaAllah you’ll have a great trip! 🙂

  12. wow amazing. absolutely amazing!

  13. MashaAllah! what a trip you people had:). I am planning to go for umrah in a month or two, InshaAllah. Wana see Kaba as I heard it’s extremely spritual. May Allah reward us too Umrah and Hajj……..Aaameen

  14. Sofi: Thanks 🙂

    Masood: It was an amazing trip, Inshaallah you’ll have a wonderful trip as well 🙂

  15. I REALLY ENJOYED YOUR PICTURES AS WELL. I AM SAVING MY MONEY TO GO NEXT YEAR INSHAALAAH! I CAN’T WAIT! WHEN I SAW THE PICTURES OF THE KAABAH I CRIED! YOUR STORY AND YOUR PICS REALLY TOUCHED ME!

    • Thanks 🙂 InshaAllah you’ll have a fantastic trip! Its really really really amazing there! Too see everything there and then so many people from all over the world, its awesome. And having halal food around everywhere is nice too hehe 🙂

  16. salam
    fantastic pictures of makkah and madina .i m glad to see those pictures.extremly beautiful pictures of kaaba black stone

  17. masha allha, first of all thnks for ur posting, cz this made a special mood to me man, may allha bless u n ur family ,Inshallah we wish to go soon, if possible next mnth itself 🙂

  18. SubhanAllah!

    Valuable Information and great pics.

    May Allah bless us all with a visit for Umrah and Hajj! Ameen.

  19. Sallam,
    Great pics; I would appreciate to write me the address’s hotel in Medinah. According to your photo, your hotel was very closely to the medinah hamar. inachall, I will visit medinah next March 2009.
    I thank very muck for your help
    Yours

  20. Sallam,
    Great pics; I would appreciate to write me the address’s hotel in Medinah. According to your photo, your hotel was very closely to the medinah hamar. inachall, I will visit medinah next March 2009.
    I thank very muck for your help
    Yours

  21. Bel, Kamel: I’m sorry I don’t know the exact address but it was the Hilton hotel. It was very close, maybe a 1-2min walk. Though ours did not, from some rooms you can view the Kaaba. InshaAllah you will have a wonderful trip!

  22. Pingback: Ramadan Mubarak! « We are who we choose to be

  23. Pingback: Geeki’s top of 2009 – A retrospective « We are who we choose to be

  24. Wow, MashaAllah.
    Congrats on your Umrah.
    I loved all my trips there too and can’t wait to go back with my family inshaAllah Ta’ala.

  25. Nahl, Thanks 🙂 And InshaAllah we’ll all get to go again soon. 🙂

  26. Salaam bro

    I dunno how I ended up on your site, lol, but you amaze me especially with your Umrah trip. Your story and pics remind me of when I went in 2008, and make me want to go again. Everything is just perfect in Saudi – 99.9% people are friendly and nice, the scenary is just absolutely speechless, the atmosphere and food are excelling also.

    I would like to make one suggestion: to all those that want to go Saudi on Umrah or Hajj do not say ‘I can’t wait for my turn’ if you want to go JUST GO! Believe me, once you been you’ll not want to come its just magnificent and speechless – people used to say that to me and I used to think ‘yeah right’ (we all do especially at young age). Unfortunately, I do not have the money to migrate there nor to visit every year!

    And by that way guys its alot better to go when you’re young as you’d be more energetic and have liabilities/restrictions to enjoy your experience.

    Sorry for going on & on bro, look after yourself.

    Salaam

  27. Assalam brother, I love this article.. I bookmarked it in my phone.. Whenever I miss the Kaaba and the Prophet’s Mosque, I wd browse this page..

Leave a Reply

