sigh…so busy so busy…..China!!!

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation) there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.
-Goethe

Thats a very nice idea. I hope its true and many ways I do believe it to be true.

Oooooooooh man…..I can’t believe that just happend in Heroes!!!!!! woah……that was crazy!!!!!!!

Sorry, got distracted for a second.

Ooh oh oh Mna, that was so nice! I called that too! I LOVE THIS SHOW!

haha ok, its over now so no more distractions. Unfortunately if the show is over my break time is over too so I need to get back to work 😦  Lets see if I can do this quickly.

The above quote speaks of about committing to a decision. My last post was about making a decision. This is kind of inbetween. Well maybe not. I have decided yeah, consulting not for me. It would just mean I sacrifice too much for too little. The tradeoff is too much. Theres been a lot of trade-offs lately.

I really wanted to do an exchange term. Go study somewhere else overseas. Singapore, England, or maybe Spain. But I’d miss out on too much of the full time recruiting events in 2nd year. And getting a job is much more important than simply trying for fun. Yes it would be a great life experience, but now that I’m doing internal consulting or general management international experience brings less value as well. Particularly when I already have a decent amount of such experience.

There seems to be a lot of tradeoffs lately. And I guess its just the nature of the program. Everything else falls by the wayside and its all about school and case competitions, strategy challenges, innovation contests or what have you. Having to study instead of going out with friends. Somewhat ironic that I feel this way this week when last week I was like I wonder why everyone is so stressed, things aren’t that busy. Just got to go with the flow…..then came this weekend. After spending almost the entire weekend in group meetings and organizing stuff in my calendar…..I don’t think i’m free for anything till next year! 😦

(this post is so amazingly unorganized compared to what I was thinking of writing earlier…oh well don’t have time to fix it).

BUT

I can’t wait to for this winter break! Why? Well because I’m going to CHINA!!!!!!!!!!!!

My cousin is teacher over in Beijing this semester so I’m going to fly out there and then we’re going to go backpack around for 2 weeks! Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Xian, and maybe 1 more place…I’m not sure yet. We’ll see how it goes. But yeah, I’m really excited about that! Woohoo China!!!!!

Anyhow, I’ll try to write something that seems a bit more coherent later on. Lets move on to pics, I have down that in awhile. And well i still wont’. Wont post them that is. But I will link to them. Cause thats just sooo much faster right now.

I went indoor rock climbing last week. It was fun! I say that Sauga bloggers should all get together and go do it! um……next year though.

Indoor Rock Climbing PicturesΒ 

5 responses to “sigh…so busy so busy…..China!!!

  1. China….that’s SO cool. ur fans demand lot of pics.

  2. You look like a rock climbing pro!

    Trade offs are always difficult to deal with. And I know how hard it is to make that decision and still with it; my trade off was coming here for education while leaving a home and life behind – or at least on ‘pause’.

    Inshallah you’ll have lots of time in your future to travel and see the rest of the world if not on an overseas study. We have to do the adult thing sometimes and make those job related decisions. Whatever happens, I hope it’s for your best πŸ™‚

  3. OMG China!! That’s so cool! It sounds like a lot of fun, I’m so jealous πŸ˜€

    What subject does your cousin teach and does she enjoy it there? My principal at the private school keeps trying to convince me to go for the summer. I’d love to contact to her to ask her about her experience if she has time.

  4. Haleem: Oh I’ll be taking a TON of pics don’t worry! πŸ˜€

    Aka: haha, thank. I’m far from a pro, but it was fun! And yeah, its hard making the adult choice sometimes. well not so much not hard as not as much fun πŸ˜› And yeah, i know what you mean about putting life on hold. Its like you have to miss so many things and you’ll say you’ll do it later and enjoy it then but…blah. Later seems far away right now.

    Oh and particularly since I was working for awhile and now I’m back at school…

    Liya: hehe, interesting that you assume my cousin is a girl πŸ™‚ HE graduated from Ryerson with a computer science degree and then just took a 4 month teaching contract to teach Perl (a programming language), Project Management, and…something else I forget. He doesn’t have any teaching background or experience….but its at the college level….not a great excuse but it is more of a lecture format there and more technical.

    As for how he likes it, he says they treat him like a King. As they do for all international teachers. He says the kids are great though language (particularly in their writing ability) is definitely a challenge. I get the sense from him that while he’s having a blast, 1 semester is enough and he’s ready to come back in January. I’ll shoot you an email later with his contact info if you want to learn more about his experience.

    I also have a friend that went to Japan to teach english for a year if you’re interested in knowing about his experience.

  5. Sure, send me an email when you have time so I can contact them, it sounds like fun and a good experience and I always was interested in the opportunity so maybe this will help kick-start something. Thanks!

    Hehe, I don’t know why I assumed your friend was a girl. Teachers can be boys too. Actually we need more male teachers πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

