A reminder

As I sat in bed today casually working on a project while watching tv I noticed one of my friends had an msn status of ‘Rest In Peace.’ I ask him what happened. He tells me his sponsored child passed away. A 9 year old girl named Kajol living in India. She died from malaria. We though malaria is preventable (looking it up there are preventive drugs but no vaccine) and he wondered, I thought I was helping her get a better life. Helping make sure she eats right, goes to school, is healthy, isn’t that what the money was for? He was upset that he didn’t even know she was sick and how she likely never got his last package. Then a friend helped him feel a bit better by providing a slight paradigm shift. Think of it this way she said, you have a little angel watching over you now. And that did make him smile a bit.

This is just another reminder to me that alhumdulillah I am very lucky for all that I have. I’ve also always wanted to get involved in one of these organizations and sponsor a child as well. I’m not going to keep putting it off anymore.

8 responses to “A reminder

  1. so sad. Good on you to take that initiative.

  2. 😦
    I’m glad you’re reacting in a positive way though.

  3. Amir, Sobia: thanks

  4. when ppl die, they don’t become angels, nor do they ‘watch over’ people who are still living.
    But regardless, your friend did a good thing when supporting her, and it did help give her a better life ❤

  5. g: To the first part, indeed, but thats not really the point is it? To the 2nd, 🙂

  6. Hello,

    I just ran across you entry and it is very unfortunate that your friend lost the 9 years old girl that he sponsored to malaria. It is a disease that dreadfully hurts numerous tropical nations and affects too many children around the world. You mentioned children sponsorship as one of your standing interest. I would thus like to invite you to take a virtual tour of some communities in which Plan USA operates. This Virtual Visit was produced by youth in the communities who conducted interviews and combined them with videography and photography to show people around the world what life is like in their villages.

    It was an exciting project that gave these groups of young people the opportunity to learn new skills and empowered them to tell their stories.

    I hope you will enjoy meeting the children and people of the communities, as it may help you in your search for a child to sponsor. If you think it is of interest, please feel free to share this with your readers.

    Lisa from Plan USA

  7. Here is the link to the virtual villages:

    http://www.planusa.org/visitavillage

    -lisa

  8. Hey Lisa thanks for the info! I’m definitely going to look into it 🙂

Leave a Reply

