Convocation!

I got in Thursday night and then Friday morning was Convocation! At first I was like….oh man…so tired, I wish I could just stay home. But I go there and it was great to see everyone again. And dressed up in our robes and sitting there, it really felt great. Wow how time has gone. It was an incredible 2 years where I learned a lot but also made many many great friends.

The ceremony itself was kept to a reasonable length. Everyone got their moment. And one of the highlights was Michael Porter speaking there. He was given an honourary PHD degree. I suppose most ppl don’t know who he is. But in the MBA world, heck the world of business, strategy, and well many many other areas. He is THE MAN. One of his books written over 30 years ago has 2 editions printed every year and is used absolutely everywhere from intro to advanced courses. His current work is no less important and well I could go on but essentially, everyone was totally geeked out about him being there hehe.

Anyhow, I’m feeling tired so here are some pics (theres more on fb). And travel pics will be blogged soon but I’ll try to put up London pics on fb today. Cheers!

Going to get my robes

Going to get my robes

Convocation Hall

Convocation Hall

Walking to our seats

Walking to our seats

The class of 2009

The class of 2009

Michael Porter

Michael Porter

Posing on stage

Posing on stage

With my parents

With my parents

Fiona & I, graduated from Waterloo together and now Rotman together :)

Fiona & I, graduated from Waterloo together and now Rotman together 🙂

Bonnie & I

Bonnie & I

Aloysius & I

Aloysius & I

Takuro, Joey, Dave, Myself, Lynn, Fiona, Edmun

Takuro, Joey, Dave, Myself, Lynn, Fiona, Edmun

Adi, Ajay, Arjun, Myself

Adi, Ajay, Arjun, Myself

Jaspreet & I

Jaspreet & I

Ah, its good to be done

Ah, its good to be done

For a few more pictures you can check out -> this

7 responses to “Convocation!

  1. Looking good! Congrats! Hope Michael Porter had some inspiring words. 🙂

    It’s funny. I always seem to be chasing you. When I got to NYC, you were on your way out. Now I’m going to the U of T, and you’ve left again!

  2. Your parents are just the cutest! Congratulations once again, and get to posting those travel pictures!
    🙂

  3. Wow… Porter eh! I wonder who they will get for the next year’s batch.

    You guys looked great with the coloured hoods, and I was glad to run into some of the profs later as well – looked like they were enjoying even more than the students!

    Isn’t it good when the ceremony and speeches is mercifully short !

  4. Your parents must feel so proud of you 🙂 Congrats, and looks like it was a great day!

    (and send me that link to the FB pics since you know I don’t have it but I’m dying to see your pics :D)

  5. Congratulations on… Graduating ? Is that what it is? 😕

  6. CONGRATS! Way to go!

  7. Jane: Thanks, his speech was interesting! And haha, thats true. Hopefully we’ll both be in the Toronto area for awhile 🙂

    Boba: haha, thanks! And I’ve started posting some on fb. And just blogged London!

    Mezba: haha, yeah they seemed to have a great time! And yes, the whole ceremony went quite smooth and better than I thought.

    liya: Thanks, it was an awesome day! And I’ll email it to you soon 🙂

    The Ruler: Thanks hehe. Yeah, convocation is the day you actually physically get your degree 🙂

    Ruby: Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

