London!

On my trip there were a few countries I was going to that required my passport to be valid for more than 3 months. It was expiring in August so I got it renewed. I told them I’d pick it up b/c I didn’t want to worry about trouble with the mail. The planning was tight though. The pick-up date was the 15th. I was flying out the night of the 15th. Yes, I have tight schedules hehe. So I go to pick it up and the girl goes into the back to look for it. And then comes back sans passport and says…I can’t find it. Ack, my heart stops. She checks her computer. It should be here she says. I start to breath deeply. She goes and comes back, hmm can’t find it. Omg this is not happening. I start to pray. Another guy comes and goes to look for it. He finds it! Oh thank goodness! Phew….I can go! And man, my parents would never let me hear the end of it if my last minute/tight schedule didn’t work out.

Anyhow. I started my trip but just hopping across the pond and visit Great Britain and the wonderful city of London. The flight was quite pleasant, the movies were good, and I made some friends on it. The girl beside me was from UoT traveling to London and Spain.

I got to London and I was like wow, this is very British! I got to the hostel and was exhausted. Setting out for a short walk and to get some food I ended up walking for hours just looking at stuff.

My first picture in London

My first picture in London

St. Pauls Cathedral

St. Pauls Cathedral

Front of the Cathedral

Front of the Cathedral

Cleopatras Needle

Cleopatra's Needle

After walking around for hours, I was like I dont’ want to go to sleep now. If I do I’ll end up waking up in the middle of the night. What to do, what to do. And then I saw tickets on sale for Wicked! A theatre show on the Westend! Awesome!

Wicked!

Wicked!

My seats were good, but for 50 pence you could use these and I just had to try it out and get a pic hehe

My seats were good, but for 50 pence you could use these and I just had to try it out and get a pic hehe

I have to say the show is just awesome. I particularly like the Defying Gravity song! It was excellently done and I like the idea behind it as well. That is, not letting ppl dictating the limits of what you’re capable of.

The next day I set off for a full day of sightseeing starting with…

The British Museum!

The British Museum!

The Rosetta Stone! I learned they used this to figure out how to read Egyptian Hieroglyphics. I.e if Egptians wrote the word cat they would write the symbols for c, a, t, and then a 4th symbol which is the picture of a cat. Interesting eh!

The Rosetta Stone!

I learned they used this to figure out how to read Egyptian Hieroglyphics. I.e if Egptians wrote the word ‘cat’ they would write the symbols for c, a, t, and then a 4th symbol which is the picture of a cat. Interesting eh!

London Bridge is nothing like I imagined...

London Bridge is nothing like I imagined...

Tower Bridge is so much cooler!

Tower Bridge is so much cooler!

Entering the Tower of London

Entering the Tower of London

One of the buildings within the Tower of London compound

One of the buildings within the Tower of London compound

Queen Victorias old crown

Queen Victoria's old crown

They wouldnt let me try the crown....so I tried this :P

They wouldn't let me try the crown....so I tried this 😛

Typical London pic :P

Typical London pic 😛

Tower Bridge letting a ship through

Tower Bridge letting a ship through

While in London I made plans to meet up with a fellow blogger, Sofi. Unfortunately she wasn’t feeling well but she reminded me there was another blogger there, Mash. I met up with Mash and 5mins later, I was at a house party haha. It was cool meeting a bunch of local Londoners and they were all really cool people. It was fun, but I have to admit, as much as I love the British accent, it did make me feel slow. Someone would say something and it’d take a sec for me to register what they said b/c of the accent and by that time someone else had said something and…ah well. It was fun 🙂

Fuad, Lily, Mash, Rachel

Fuad, Lily, Mash, Rachel

Lily, Osman, Pete, and....cant remember :P

Lily, Osman, Pete, and....can't remember 😛

Westminster Abbey

Westminster Abbey

Big Ben

Big Ben

London Eye

London Eye

Just a pic that I like

Just a pic that I like

Tate Museum

Tate Museum

Tate Museum had some awesome works of art!

Buckingham Palace

Buckingham Palace

Hyde Park

Hyde Park

Another from Hyde Park

Another from Hyde Park

The Londoners introduced me to this cool Turkish restaurant. It was far from downtown and Id never have discovered it within out them :)

The Londoners introduced me to this cool Turkish restaurant. It was far from downtown and I'd never have discovered it within out them 🙂

The Hostel I was at. Well technically its the building behind this one.

The Hostel I was at. Well technically its the building behind this one.

I stumbled upon some red carpet movie premiere...no idea who these ppl were though or even what movie :P

I stumbled upon some red carpet movie premiere...no idea who these ppl were though or even what movie 😛

Leicester Square at Night

Leicester Square at Night

Alright, I think thats enough pics for now. For more pics you check out my London album on facebook

Overall, I really enjoyed London. It was soooo much bigger of a city than I thought. Theres a ton to do and see. Theres a lot of really cool chill spots to just sit down and relax. The weather was I guess typical London weather but it was weird! Like 1 min I’m hot and need to take my jacket off, the next its raining, then its super windy, then its cold. Seriously, I felt I had to take off/put on my jacket every 20mins. Theres also a ton of stuff flying around in the air, thank goodness I don’t have allergies! Indian restaurants are all over the place AND they’re really good! Of course its freaking pricy! Like I knew it was going to be expensive, but oh man, was it ever! I did soooo soo much in my few days there but I will definitely have to return b/c theres still so much more. And yes, the ppl there are pretty cool 🙂 I did end up meeting with Sofi finally as well as Mash once more before leaving and it was cool. They’re both really nice and helped make my London trip an awesome experience! 🙂

Next stop, Edinburgh Scotland!

14 responses to “London!

  1. Awwwwww i/we enjoyed meeting you too. it was super cool, better than awesome. i think the time just totally flew by, which is a shame. but you have promised to return right?

    and i agree with the unpredictable weather leading to a confused state for clothing; thats why i walk around with sandals and my hoody-even though most of my friends hate my hoody, it has really helped!:p

    btw, the reaction on mash’s face when he returned to find a large bottle of mineral water on the table: priceless.

  2. I’ve been in the UK for a while… And I have yet to explore London -I live out of London, btw- That was the first time I came across pictures like that. Life in London may not be as bad as I think. Hmmm. O_O

    That man with the hairy hat -what’re they called?- looks tiiiiiny. Or is it just the picture?

  3. Nice pics dude…. Although I lived in London I rarely did the tourist things something I kind of regret… Guess that means I have to go back soon

  4. It’s good that you had fun – but London has to be one of the most BORINGEST (yes, its a word) cities, ever! Did you come up north? – it’s so much better!
    🙂

  5. Wow, looks like you had a grand time! I’m glad you took pictures of everything 🙂

  6. Sofi: Haha, yeah it was great to meet you too. London and the ppl were great and yes, InshaAllah I’ll definitely return 🙂 haha, yeah that was funny, but oh well.

    The Ruler: You should definitely go and explore! Its fun being a tourist sometimes, even in your own city 🙂 The hat is called a Bearskin hat, its worn by grenadiers, but now its mostly cermonial/decorative.

    Edge: Thanks, yeah its fun to be a tourist 🙂

    Boba: Boring? What? I had a great time! I did go up to Edinburgh and I’m about to blog about that now! 🙂

    Specs: It was a fantastic time! Yah haha, I took a ton of pics 🙂

  7. You went to Azizye’s sweet. I love the sheep skins on the wall there. It really is out in the middle of no where, but worht going to for the atmosphere. All though i think the foods got worse over time. Its really cool sitting on the floor chilling and eating.

    Another cool foodie place you should try, if ever back in london is Tayabs, in whitechapel, right near east london mosque. They do awesome lamb chops, and massive jugs of mango lassi.

    I need to re explore london over the summer. Did you walk along camden canal towards regents park thats another lil awesome walk.

    Mushowish

  8. MAN! I’m glad that you had a wonderful/awesome time there and from what I read about the people you met up. It’s good that you found some good people to hang out with while you were there! 🙂

    But I have to tell you.. you better NOT go again without me.. lol …. 😀

  9. Good for you, Ahmed! We saw the Wicked in Broadway as well. The ticket came uneasily. (they never have sales and we got it from last minute cancellation). The Defying Gravity is so cool and the last scene of Act 1 is definitely a life memory…

  10. Mushowish: Welcome to my blog 🙂 And yes, thats it! Azizye! Yeah, it was a really nice experience and a cool place to just hang out. And its funny you mention Tayabs b/c thats the other Indian restaurant I went to! ahha. I actually wasn’t that impressed with the lamb chops though. The kebabs were really good though 🙂 I walked through all of Hyde park and a bit of Regent park. And then I got tired and just needed a bus/tube back to town hehe. Do you know the other London bloggers? Maybe I’ll see ya next time I’m there.

    Rukhsana: haha, I promise nothing 😛

    Claire: Yes, I’m glad you got to see it! Its was a really fun and enjoyable show 🙂

  11. ps tayyabs is soooooooooooo overr rated 😛

  12. the kebabs and prawn masala were really good. Oh and that bottle of water! can’t beat that 😛

  13. LOL I only saw this post just now!

    That was a great week. The houseparty was hilarious. I need to get the pictures from Pete, I’m sure he took pictures of us drawing on the blackboard. and you didn’t mention the half hour walk trying to find a mosque.

    Tayyabs is over rated… but it’s nice.. by London standards. For real desi food you need to go north to Birmingham, Manchester and Bradford.

    Wicked is SO GOOD. It’s been a couple years since I saw it though but I loved it.

    We did eat quite a lot when you were here eh. The best lamb chops in London are at a place in Hounslow called Flamin’ Grill. Take you there next time!

    • haha, it was a blast! oh yes the long march haha, well i can’t blog about everything. That reminds me I also forgot to mention going to new stokington and the drunk guy in a wheelchair that kept pushing his chair out infront of the bus…

      I’ll have to try Flamin’Grill then, I love lamp chops! London really does have so many desi restaurants than here. I love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

