Edinburgh!

After London, I took a flight to Edinburgh, Scotland! I had no idea what to expect here but people told me it was a beautiful city and a wonderful place to visit. And just taking the bus from the airport to the city centre I could tell! It was much much smaller than London but it seemed very clean, peaceful, and a lot of greenery 🙂

National Gallery of Scotland

National Gallery of Scotland

Just walking to my hostel from the city centre I could easily see the biggest tourist attraction of the city, Edinburgh Castle!

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

My early morning flight had really tired me out though since I hadn’t really slept at night (I was worried I wouldn’t get up for the flight). So I kinda just fell asleep for almost the whole day. I woke up in the evening and set out to explore though. The city at night is also just amazing!

The walk up the street from my Hostel. And 1 of my favourite pics from Edinburgh

The walk up the street from my Hostel. And 1 of my favourite pics from Edinburgh

The Bank...I think :P

The Bank...I think 😛

St. Giles Cathedral

St. Giles Cathedral

The main tourist street, High Street aka the Royal Mile was cool. It led to the castle on one side and the palace on the other, had the cathedral, restaurants, attractions, of course the latest fashions.

Latest Fashions

Latest Fashions

My hostel was nicely located just down the street from it.

My hostel

My hostel

Anyhow, so the first thing to check out, the castle! I head there and was right in time for the changing of the guards!

Changing of the Guards

Changing of the Guards

Entering the Castle

Entering the Castle

Its a huge castle

Its a huge castle

One of the great halls within the castle

One of the great halls within the castle

As I was walking around, you’d never guess who I ran into. None other than Mel Gibson!

Mel Gibson aka William Wallace

Mel Gibson aka William Wallace

I did learn that Wallace was from the low lands though and he would never have dressed like this. Also he was a really brutal guy. 6’3 guy that once skinned one of his enemies and made a belt from the skin. Brutal!

One of the other atractions I stopped at was Camera Obscura. A cool place with all sorts of optical illusions and other stuff. It has nothing to do with Edinburgh really, but it was a lot of fun anyhow 😛

Tall Geeki

Tall Geeki

Short Geeki

Short Geeki

Geeki Everywhere :)

Geeki Everywhere 🙂

Walking to the other side of the Royal Mile (which although they say its a mile, it felt like more) was the parliament.

The Parliament

The Parliament

Now you look at the building and you’re like that looks pretty new. And you’d be correct. The Scotlish parliament is less than 20 years old (I forget exactly, maybe 10-15?). Before that everything was done by the British Government. It was only recently that more local matters were transferred to Scotish parliament.

Across from that is the Palace 🙂

Holyroodhouse Palace

Holyroodhouse Palace

Behind that was this huge hill/mountain. And since it was there, I decided to climb it hehe. I didn’t go all the way to the top cause there were no lights up there and I didn’t want to be stuck there when the sunset. Of course later I realized I shouldn’t have worried cause the sun didn’t set till like 945 or so!

Really big hill

Really big hill

View from near the top

View from near the top

Afterwards back in town I was pretty hungry so I walked around and settled on an all you can eat Chinese restaurant. Omg, one of the worst restaurants I’ve ever been to. Service was fine but the food….blah! I did however notice this on my way out.

Kinda cool :)

Kinda cool 🙂

The following day I decided, I’m in Scotland I have to go see the Highlands! So off I went!

Hammish, the highland cow!

Hammish, the highland cow!

Highlands!

Highlands!

Saw this in the parking lot and just had to take a pic :)

Saw this in the parking lot and just had to take a pic 🙂

Highlands!

Highlands!

Now while heading up to the highlands, I’m like…ok I’m here. Why not go try and find the Loch Ness monster!

Loch Ness

Loch Ness

I tried hard, even using radar to see what the Loch looks like under the water

I tried hard, even using radar to see what the Loch looks like under the water

I looked everywhere!

I looked everywhere!

But Nessie was no where to be found. Ah well, the Loch was still beautiful. We passed by a lot of other great scenary as well.

Like this

Like this

It was a long long day, but it was fun and I made some cool friends 🙂

Amy, Ashley, Myself, Russian dude

Amy, Ashley, Myself, Russian dude

My last night in Edinburgh the town was FULL of people! Everywhere, apparently they just totally love their rugby and everyone from everywhere came to town to watch the big match the next day. It was cool to see the crowd and busy streets and restaurants BUT it meant my hostel and everyone other place was full! Ack! Ah well, I spent the day and much of the night strolling around checking out stuff and then went to the airport. I actually slept fairly well taking over an entire bench 🙂

For more Edinburgh pictures, click -> Here.

Next stop, Dublin!

8 responses to “Edinburgh!

  1. I LOVE your pics, just read the London post which brought back so many memories from last year and now this post has such awesome pics. I love the secnd pic with the castle on the hill!

    So Geeki, while there did you buy any of those latest fashions you show us? 😀 I think the one with the orange tie would look great on you hehe.

    Oh and I love the pic with the Canada statement.
    And I like the J.KRowling pic.
    Ah I love all your pics!!

  2. I heart Edinburgh. I’m taking a trip there next month and I cannot wait! Thanks for reminding me how ace it will be!! 🙂

  3. The grass IS greener in Edinburgh… or is it just because its the other side of the pasture?

    😉

    Loving the photos of the buildings!

    The highlands look AMAZING… and I love the hairstyle on Mr (miss?) Hammish… 😉

  4. Hey – what a really nice happy blog! Lovely photos. I’m in Edinburgh all the time so it’s nice to see it from a visitor’s perspective 🙂

  5. Edinburgh looks really, really beautiful and scenic. I heard the sheikh of Dubai has a 18-bedroom mansion in the highlands, as well as some of the songs from Kuch Kuch Hota Hain was shot in that castle!

  6. liya: haha, thanks 🙂 London is an awesome city and the Edinburgh castle was really cool. Just a great looking place in general.

    boba: hehe, yeah Edinburgh was a lot of fun. Hope you have a blast!

    Specs: Thanks 🙂 The highlands were amazing! And it was Mr. Hammish hehe

    jdoc303: Welcome to the blog, and thanks for the comments. I had no idea what to expect in Edinburgh but the people there were friendly and city was cool and I had a lot of fun 🙂

    Mezba: Oh yeah? Interesting. There are lots of other castles in the area so I wouldn’t be surprised.

  7. What a wonderful blog with photos you’ve created. Thanks so much for sharing your adventures in beautiful Edinburgh!

  8. Mary: Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

