Dublin!

Flying into Dublin! Got to love the cheap Ryanair flights 😛

Arriving in Dublin, Ireland!

Arriving in Dublin, Ireland!

I arrived in Dublin and the weather was fantastic! After dropping my stuff off at the hostel I set out to explore. One thing I noticed quite quickly was an awesome reminder of home. Its the only one in town that I spotted so it was just sheer luck I found it 🙂

A little bit of home :)

A little bit of home 🙂

Yum!

Yum!

So while walking around I came across some large pedestrian only streets. I love that! And Dublin had many of them! Actually, Europe in general had many of them as you’ll see in pics to come. So on the these streets there are restaurants, pubs & bars (I was in Ireland afterall 😛 ), shops, theatres, and of course buskers!

Large pedestrian street

Large pedestrian street

Street Artist

Street Artist

Street Puppeteer

Street Puppeteer

I came across the Art Gallery and decided to check it out. Other than the lobby I wasnt allowed to take pictures inside, but I must say it was fantastic! If you go to Dublin, make sure you check it out. They had some amazing pieces in there. You know, I’m not a huge art person, but I’m slowly getting more and more into it. At the least I’m really liking the great masters. Oh oh and they had some old drawings that were done for a really old copy of some fairytales, not the brothers grimm stories but …..ah I can’t remember who. But it was great too 🙂

Lobby of Art Gallery

Lobby of Art Gallery

Watching a rehearsal for a performance later that night. It was really good!

Watching a rehearsal for a performance later that night. It was really good!

Another thing that was really good in Dublin was

The Chocolate! :)

The Chocolate! 🙂

Love the big pedestrian streets

Love the big pedestrian streets

How low can you go?

How low can you go?

That was too easy, lets lower it and set it on fire!

That was too easy, lets lower it and set it on fire!

Even lower!

Even lower!

I kind of Dublin as a smaller, cleaner, less diverse London. And like London, it had some nice parks and areas to just sit down and relax. Enjoy the weather and just chill.

I dont remember the name of the church, but very nice area :)

I don't remember the name of the church, but very nice area 🙂

Part of the old city and old city wall

Part of the old city and old city wall

Now Dublin really does have a lot of pubs and bars and whatnot. And most ppl tend to go to those at night. At least the other ppl at the hostels. Since thats not my thing, I looked around for what I could do. And I found this! I’m a big theatre fan and I’m a bit Shawshank Redemption fan so it turned out great!

Gaiety Theatre

Gaiety Theatre

Inside the theatre

Inside the theatre

Dublin also has one of the oldest universities in Europe so, I don’t know. The geek in me had to go check it out. Plus it was like a 5min walk away from my hostel.

Trinity College. Very nice campus!

Trinity College. Very nice campus!

Another thing I really like in cities is when they have rivers flowing through them. They make the cities look so nice!

Nice eh?

Nice eh?

Another street artist

Another street artist

So I stopped for a minute somewhere to get my bearings. It was a particularly hot day and then I looked down and the cement was melting underneath me! It was just this one small area, so I don’t know what kind of weird cement they used there, but eh, I guess I left a mark in the city now 🙂

My right food

My right food

So my UK trip was just amazing. Although my time was limited I feel I packed in a ton. The people everywhere were friendly and the cities were beautiful. AND UK weather was incredibly kind to me. 🙂

Next stop, Berlin! That will have to be a big post because Berlin was one of my favourite cities, I absolutely loved it!

In the meantime, for more Dublin pictures Click Here

8 responses to “Dublin!

  1. i enjoyed reading this; i get a glimpse of what life is like there. thanks.

  2. ‘Large pedestrian streets?’ Do they not have those in Canada? Ah, I really need to get out of here!

  3. Yeah that’s what Toronto doesn’t have, pedestrian only streets and a river flowing through it. We need to get onto that. And a better subway system.

    Love the pics 😀

  4. Street artists, puppeteers, churches… the place looks awesome!!

  5. lovely photos, esp the first one.

    Specs,

    If you want street artists and puppeteers, Rome and London would top Dublin any given day

  6. sofi: 🙂

    boba: Well I can’t speak for all of Canada. But Toronto could definitely use some. There are some small areas, but not on the same scale as those in Dublin, Germany, etc

    liya: We really really need a better mass transit system.

    Specs: They were! 🙂

    Tazeen: Thanks! 🙂 I remember them in Rome, I didn’t notice much in London, but I’m sure they’re there.

  7. hey guy welldone,verygood site real informative about the dublin life.i like it.
    and ill recomend your site to my visits at my blog.
    take care

Leave a Reply

