Budapest!

The 2nd last stop on my trip was Budapest. I was here for about 3.5 days and there was a lot I wanted to see. One of my friends from Rotman is actually from Budapest so I was able to talk to him and find out what to see and do. I arrived here by train from Vienna and station itself was quite nice.

Inner part of train station

Inner part of train station

Still inside the station

Still inside the station

Now this wasn’t the only station I visited. While walking to a tour meeting point we passed by an interesting building. It turned out to be an old station that was now a marketplace! It was so cool! Very vibrant, busy, colourful, and lots of cool little stores. And food! πŸ™‚

Market in station

Market in station

Fruit stand

Fruit stand

Chocolate pastry I got there. So good!

Chocolate pastry I got there. So good!

I really love all the pedestrian streets, why can’t Toronto have more of these?

Pedestrian street

Pedestrian street

Um...to be honest I forget what this is...parliament maybe...

Um...to be honest I forget what this is...parliament maybe...

You know what else I found out. Budapest is actually 2 cities! Buda and Pest! They are seperated by a river and as they grew they kinda merged.

Another building, apparently a lot of foreign nationals address the media around here

Another building, apparently a lot of foreign nationals address the media around here

Bridge from Buda to Pest

Bridge from Buda to Pest

Another pic of the city

Another pic of the city

An old church, unfortunately under construction

An old church, unfortunately under construction

I love pictures through arches!

I love pictures through arches!

So we made some friends on the tour, a couple americans, and 4 singaporeans(sp?). During the tour we all saw this big statue on a hill so we decided to set out for it. After a few hrs of going in circles, I don’t know how many buses….well….at least we took bus 24 several times (we were quite lost πŸ˜› ) we finally made it. The subway system isn’t bad…but buses..particularly on the fringe of the map…..not so easy.

On top of the hill

On top of the hill

Statue on other side of the hill

Statue on other side of the hill

Statue on the top of the hill

Statue on the top of the hill

All of us being tourists

All of us being tourists

View from atop the hill

View from atop the hill

Another from the top

Another from the top

And another

And another

So the first night in Budapest I stayed at the Budepest Bubble which was a really nice, small, and friendly hostel. Unfortunately it was full after the 1st day. They recommended another hostel to me nearby and so I ended up going there. I booked myself into a 5 person dorm room for 2 nights and……I had the entire room to myself! There was only 1 other person in the entire hostel and they were in another dorm room on the other side. It was soooo nice! After almost of month of hostels it was so good to have a big room and space and privacy and alone time! I really can’t express how good it was.

This is the inner foyer of the hostel I was staying at.

This is the inner foyer of the hostel I was staying at.

Now I did a lot of walking around Budapest to check out the sights and one of the things I saw was the largest Synagogue in Europe (the largest in the world being in NYC). It was my first time visiting one and I discovered its not too different than a church.

Inside

Inside

It really looked amazing!

It really looked amazing!

Another pic inside

Another pic inside

From here I continued walking and I came across a cathedral.

Cathedral

Cathedral

Before going inside I checked out the local area and I stumbled upon a free outdoor concert.

Performers

Performers

Audience

Audience

Inside the cathedral

Inside the cathedral

Now you’re allowed to go up to the top of the cathedral.

Winding stairs to the top

Winding stairs to the top

City view from the top

City view from the top

Another pic from the top

Another pic from the top

And then back down the stairs

And then back down the stairs

Then I was off to explore and I came to this open area. I forget what its called exactly…court of heroes or something like that I think. On either side of it are musuems/art galleries.

Court of Heroes

Court of Heroes

And behind that is a nice park area

It was a hot day so I decided to just go to the mall. And the mall was nice!

West End Mall

West End Mall

Inside the mall

Inside the mall

At night I decided to go check out a traditional folkdance performance. A bit pricy but hey, who knows when I’ll be back here.

Inside the theatre hall

Inside the theatre hall

These guys were amazing! Although a bit annoying that they stopped to bow for applause after each song.

These guys were amazing! Although a bit annoying that they stopped to bow for applause after each song.

The girl dancers

The girl dancers

And the guys

And the guys

Back to the girls

Back to the girls

And both

And both

Back to the girls

Back to the girls

And then a gypsy number

And then a gypsy number

And then both again

And then both again

The bridge at night

The bridge at night

I couldnt capture how nicely it looked in person

I couldn't capture how nicely it looked in person

I like lamp post shots

I like lamp post shots

Another shot

Another shot

Building at night

Building at night

Overall Budapest was a fantastic time! It was by far the cheapest place I went and there was a lot to do. Mostly in terms of buildings. The musuems aren’t as good as the other places in Europe (most of the good stuff was taken in the wars). People say Budapest is a blend between Eastern and Western Europe. I can sort of see that. Theres plenty of old and theres a lot of modern as well.

Then leaving Budapest I took the cheapest airline I could find.

Surprisingly even after really slouching I had soooo much leg room. Never had that much on any previous flight

Surprisingly even after really slouching I had soooo much leg room. Never had that much on any previous flight

Next stop, Istanbul!!!

4 responses to “Budapest!

  1. nice pics. the winding stairs looked like the backdrop of one of the print ads i did for moto a long time ago… boy.. that sure brought back some memories.. ha

  2. I didn’t know about Budapest being Buda and Pest, you learn something everyday!

    I’m eagerly awaiting your last post now for my own selfish reasons hehe.

  3. Hmm.. didn’t know about Buda and Pest!

    though I wonder being from a town called Pest and introducing yourself in English!!!

  4. Howard: Thanks, I think you need to post more pics of your trips now πŸ™‚

    liya: Yep! Neither did I tell I got there….and soon!

    Mezba: haah, well its pronounced more like Pesh than Pest πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

