My Alhamdullilah List

So awhile ago Liya did an Alhamdullilah list and I thought it was awesome idea and then I was tagged πŸ˜›

So here we go…(btw Liya, I copied a few bits here and there πŸ™‚

For everything, I am so grateful.

1. I am incredibly greateful for my family. My parents are my greatest role models and have done more for me than I can even imagine. And I think sometimes about my grandparents, the ones no longer here and…you know, no one can pray for you like your parents. My sister is a pain πŸ˜› but also awesome. They are all always supportive and there.

2. My cousins. And general closeness with family. I know many people that aren’t close to their family and extended family and I can’t even imagine that. I have many friends, which I’ll get to in a sec, but I grew up spending every weekend and summer with my cousins. Hanging out, playing, having sleepovers, etc. Everything was with my cousins. I can step into any of their houses anytime and feel comfortable, know where everything is in the kitchen. And basically just treat it as my own home.Β  They aren’t just relatives, they are family.

3. I’m grateful for my all my amazing friends. I have so many amazing amazing friends. Many of whom I’ve been friends with for over 10-15 years now. They’re always there when I need an opinion or advise on something and of course when we just want to go out for food and dessert or something πŸ˜›

4. Alhamdulillah, for my having all and then some of the basic necessities. I’ve never had to fight for my survival. I’ve never worried about shelter or clothing and I probably complain about being too full (late night cereal snacking πŸ˜› ) than being hungry. And I love food and have been lucky enough to try some really cool restaurants, and for the most part go satisfy a craving when I want. In some places I’ve travelled people have lived in make-shift shacks by dumpsites or just off the beach or just on the streets. I’ve had people beg me for less than a penny in change…and…I’m grateful for what I have.

5. Alhamdullilah I am healthy. I’ve never had a serious health problem and I’ve never worried about having access to medical care when I need it. In some of the places I’ve travelled I’ve seen some people with handicaps/deformations/etc that to be honest just make their appearance scary to me and at times I was so shocked because I never thought people could live (like just be alive) in such conditions. Alhamdullilah, I am able to eat enough and healthy enough to be active and excercise and pursue all the things I want in life.

6.Β  Alhamdullilah, I am in more debt than I’ve ever been in my life, more than most people in the world earn in their lives. And yet, I’m making more than I ever have in the past and I’m not at all worried about being able to pay my loan back and am more concerned about saving, buying, and investing.

7. I’m grateful that I live in Mississauga (Toronto). I live in a part of the world where people ‘have’. There are strong social systems in place. And I have freedom and safety. I can walk the streets alone and at night and without fear. And I’ve been spoiled by the diversity of the people. In undergrand I rented a house with 6 friends 1 year and together we represented Japan, Vietnam, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, China, India, and Pakistan. And my group of friends is even more diverse. Its wonderful to experience and learn about their different cultures and at the end of the day, although we maintain our culture, we come together as Canadian.

8. Alhamdullilah, I am thankful for opportunities in life. And that ties into my parents and health, and where I live.Β  Thankful that it allowed me opportunity to work hard and go to school for undergrad and then grad school and just pursue the education and career path of my choosing. I am able to pursue a career in what I want to do and for the most part where I want. I am not forced to work a job simply to survive.

9. I’m so grateful for being fortunate enough to pursue things for fun. I can stop and chill, hang out with friends, spend money on a movie. Buy a book. And for the time/money/health to be able to travel. I love travelling! I really started travelling maybe 5 years ago (excluding Pakistan when I was a lil kid) and in that time I’ve been incredibly fortunate enough to visit India, NYC (other U.S. cities),Β  France, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, Belgium, Britain, Scotland, Ireland, Saudi Arabia, China (mainland and HK), Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, and Turkey.

10. Alhamdullilah, I am thankful for everything that has shaped me into who I am. I of course have aspects of myself I don’t entirely like and that I wish to improve. But generally, I like who I am. Every year I find myself more and more confident in all that I do and who I am. I realize more about myself and whats important to me. And I’m glad I know what is right and what is wrong. That I am an optimistic and idealistic person for the most part. I’m glad that when I do something wrong, I recognize it. And Its not something I’m willing to accept, it feels like an act against my nature and who I want to be. Allowing me to try and continue to improve myself.

Alhamdullilah I was born into a religion I’ve never had to question. I pray that I never lose my faith. I pray that continue to grow and learn more and be a better muslim and person. There is nothing in my life that I could have done without Him, alhumdullilah, all praise be to God.

You know, when I let my thoughts wander a bit here and there while writing this or thinking about this…there was a part of me that was worried what people would think. Like I dont want people to think I’m bragging about things or trying to show off.

But as I come to the end of this. I thought less and less about that and more and more about wow. I am so incredibly lucky. There are billions of people in this world that struggle. And I mean really struggle, just to live. I am incredibly blessed, fortunate, lucky, and a hundred other synonyms. All I can think of I feel I need to go pray now. And I need to do more.
What are you thankful to God for?

12 responses to “My Alhamdullilah List

  1. “You know, when I let my thoughts wander a bit here and there while writing this or thinking about this…there was a part of me that was worried what people would think. Like I dont want people to think I’m bragging about things or trying to show off.” I thought that at the beginning as well. It’s sometimes hard to distinguish the difference between showing off and showing that you’re grateful for something because one can easily be mistaken for the other unless you spell it out and say “I am grateful for…” I like your list! I hope more people do this, it was fun and it’s so easy because there’s so much to be grateful for, it’s hard to even fit it into 10 things.

  2. Wow, I have so much to be grateful for, I could sit here the entire night writing out my list.

    I think the one thing that stands out fo rme though, is that I’m grateful that I have Allah SWT πŸ™‚

  3. Masha’Allah. I’m in awe of the fact that you know how to count your blessings. That, in itself is another thing to say AlHamduLillah to!

    I see so many people around me who are so unhappy. Not because they don’t have enough. But because they don’t count their blessings or are unable to, whatever the case may be.

  4. alhumdolillah to your list πŸ˜› enjoyed reading it.

  5. have to make up a similar list but can only say to your list – mashAllah!

  6. MashAllah!

    Enjoyed reading it. May all these blessings continue Inshallah.

  7. liya: It can be a fine line sometimes…but ideally people take things in the spirit in which they were intended. And thanks! It was a good idea of yours and hopefully it does spread πŸ™‚

    Azra: Alhamdullilah πŸ™‚

    MJ Khan: InshaAllah!

    Specs: Thanks. And yes, its sad… some people just can’t see beyond themselves.

    Sofi: Thanks. ps, I tagged you! πŸ˜›

    Haleem: πŸ™‚

    M&M: πŸ™‚ And thanks!

  8. Thanks HS, I tag you too! πŸ™‚

  9. I’m a comment-er not a blogger. πŸ™‚

  10. HS: No worries tags can be done by email too πŸ™‚ or even right here.

Leave a Reply

