When we were Kings

Sometimes I look back and think about the past. Remember where I was and what I use to be doing. Playing with my cousins. Living with friends in Waterloo. Working in NYC and living with friends there. Travelling different parts of the world. Obviously there are bad times and sorrow, but I generally remember the good. Life was good!

There’s a lot of work along the way of course. And there definitely is now too. But I think its important to try and enjoy life as it occurs and not always just think to the future or about enjoying things later. There can be happiness in a lot of simple things at any time. I have truly been blessed, had it easy, and overall I’ve been able to live like a King. Hopefully in the future as I live and encounter whatever struggles I’ll be able to look back on those times as well and realize, they’re actually some pretty awesome times in my life too.

My mind wanders, slightly. I’m using King as in owning the moment and enjoying life. The sandbox, the domino table in highschool, the pool tables in residence. The chocolate cafe’s in nyc, etc. Some really good times. I wonder what the future holds.

Ok so people have asked about my trip. At least 1 person has asked for a clue (coughliyacough) ๐Ÿ˜› haha. Well I won’t make it easy! Clue #1 & 2. Where I’m going it’ll be hot and I’ll need some bug spray.

4 responses to “When we were Kings

  1. Australia?

    “Hopefully in the future as I live and encounter whatever struggles Iโ€™ll be able to look back on those times as well and realize, theyโ€™re actually some pretty awesome times in my life too” I wish I could do the same… I find it hard to be positive right now at this moment in my life. I used to think I was a positive person but it’s turned out that I’m not. It’s good that I read this. I like the image of King of the sandbox ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m a curious person by nature and I have to say I’m extremely extremely curious about what’s going on with you, you’ve alluded to it for several months now….but I know you have great people in your life to help you out so inshaAllah things improve soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      On another note, V, you, me, whoever else should go for dinner or something again. Haven’t seen Aqeel or Mezba in awhile either. Or Sobia in over a year now I think…

      And nope, not Australia ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This post speaks to me. You could add the line “you could have been a contender” and it would be completely what I am feeling at the moment.

    I too am curious about Liya and what she is alluding too, but I guess we’ll have to wait if she wants to say. Ahmed’s reply is perfect, don’t have to add to it myself, she does have great people in her life so she can cope inshAllah.

  3. “but I know you have great people in your life to help you out so inshaAllah things improve soon ” .. I really should be more grateful for all these people, you’re right, I do have them. I hope they know how important they are to me.

    On a happier note, yes we should do something – maybe like play that trivia game again? I really liked it ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

