Name that movie

Pick 15 or so movies. Go to IMDb and find a quote from each movie. Post them here for everyone to guess. Strike it out when someone guesses correctly, and put who guessed it and the movie. NO GOOGLING/using IMDb search or other searches.

Hmm…that took longer than I took…and the movies that came to mind are fairly old…

1. No, wait! Doc. Doc. The-the-the bruise – the bruise on your head. I know how that happened! You told me the whole story. You were standing on your toilet, and you were hanging a clock, and you fell, and you hit your head on the sink. And that’s when you came up with the idea for the Flux Capacitor… Back to the Future – Waseem

2. Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die. The Princess Bride – Waseem

3. Boy you don’t know nothing. Mighty Mouse is a cartoon. Superman is a real guy. No way a cartoon could beat up a real guy.

4. Next time, it may be you. If you do no better than they did, next time it WILL be you. They said this school was dead, like the cemetery it’s built on. But we call our Eastside teams “Ghosts”, don’t we? And what are ghosts? Ghosts are spirits that rise from the dead. I want you to be my ghosts. You are going to lead our resurrection, by defying the expectation that all of us are doomed to failure. My motto is simple: If you do not succeed in life, I don’t want you to blame your parents. I don’t want you to blame the White Man. I want you to blame yourselves. The responsibility is yours! In two weeks we have a practice exam, and on April 13th we have the Minimum Basic Skills Test itself. That’s 110 school days from now. But it’s not just about those test scores. If you do not have these basic skills, you will find yourselves locked out. Locked out of that American Dream that you see advertised on TV, and that they tell you is so easy to get. You are here for one reason. One reason only: To learn. To work for what you believe in. The alternative is to waste your time, to fall into the trap of crime and drugs and death. Does everybody understand that? Do all of you understand me? Then welcome to the new Eastside High. Lean on Me – Killa

5. wax on, wax off. The Karate Kid – Waseem

6. I’ll tell you the problem with the scientific power that you’re using here: it didn’t require any discipline to attain it. You read what others had done and you took the next step. You didn’t earn the knowledge for yourselves, so you don’t take any responsibility… for it. You stood on the shoulders of geniuses to accomplish something as fast as you could and before you even knew what you had you patented it and packaged it and slapped it on a plastic lunchbox, and now you’re selling it, you want to sell it! Jurrasic Park – Waseem

7. Tell me something, my friend. You ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight? I always ask that of all my prey. I just like the sound of it. Batman – MJ

8. No, Eliza, you didn’t “sy” that, you didn’t even “say” that. Now every night before you get into bed, where you used to say your prayers, I want you to say “The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain” fifty times. You’ll get much further with the Lord if you learn not to offend His ears. My Fair Lady – Boba

9. Eeeh! Sorry Hans, wrong guess. Would you like to go for Double Jeopardy where the scores can really change? Die Hard – MJ

10. You don’t say “sorry” when you shoot somebody. You can say “sorry” when you step on someone’s toe, or accidentally break their glasses, or when you fart while they’re eating. YOU DON’T SAY YOU’RE SORRY WHEN YOU SHOOT SOMEONE! Nothing to Lose – Mezba

11. Hi Willie. Oh, I’m Mike Walsh. You’ve been expecting me, haven’t you? Well I made it. I beat you. I got here in one piece… so far.

12. You’re 5 foot nothin’, 100 and nothin’, and you have barely a speck of athletic ability. And you hung in there with the best college football players in the land for 2 years. And you’re gonna walk outta here with a degree from the University of Notre Dame. In this life, you don’t have to prove nothin’ to nobody but yourself. And after what you’ve gone through, if you haven’t done that by now, it ain’t gonna never happen. Now go on back. Rudy – Sophister

13. I love that word “relationship.” Covers all manner of sins, doesn’t it? I fear that this has become a bad relationship; a relationship based on the President taking exactly what he wants and casually ignoring all those things that really matter to, erm… Britain. We may be a small country, but we’re a great one, too. The country of Shakespeare, Churchill, the Beatles, Sean Connery, Harry Potter. David Beckham’s right foot. David Beckham’s left foot, come to that. And a friend who bullies us is no longer a friend. And since bullies only respond to strength, from now onward I will be prepared to be much stronger. And the President should be prepared for that. Love Actually – Blackolives

14. The key to faking out the parents is the clammy hands. It’s a good non-specific symptom; I’m a big believer in it. A lot of people will tell you that a good phony fever is a dead lock, but, uh… you get a nervous mother, you could wind up in a doctor’s office. That’s worse than school. You fake a stomach cramp, and when you’re bent over, moaning and wailing, you lick your palms. It’s a little childish and stupid, but then, so is high school. Ferris Buellers Day Off – Waseem

15. Onions! Onions have layers… Shrek – Waseem

18 responses to “Name that movie

  1. 1. Back to the future (1 i think)
    2. Princess Bride (top movie)
    3. sounds familiar, can’t remember
    4. Dangerous minds?
    5. karate kid 1
    6. im gonna shoot myself over this one, im sure i know it. It sounds very Jurassic Parky
    10. Pulp fiction?
    14. Ferris Buellers Day off
    15. Shrek 1

  2. I only recognize #5 and 15, I’m horrible with remembering movie quotes and even titles. I should give this to V he’d probably know all of them.

  3. 1 – Back to the Future.
    10 – Nothing to Lose.
    15- Shrek.

    Also answered on facebook. Would have guessed more but for Aqeel who it appears was up at 1.30 am!

  4. The ones I know have been guessed.

  5. 8. My Fair Lady, methinks.

    🙂

  6. Waseem: You got 1,2,5,6,14, and 15!

    liya: tsk tsk 😛 well at least you got 2 🙂

    Mezba: You got 10 right

    Amir: Is that all you got? Even Liya beat you!

    Boba: Thats correct!

  7. Dammit – i saw this one, but i didnt get a chance to comment

    but then again – waseem is the resident movie buff – he slaughters us in scene it 🙂

    i know number 7 is from one of teh batmans – im guessing hte first as it has the JN feel to it

    9 – yippie kayai motherf***r 😀

    I dont know the others

  8. lol I think I should take offense to the “Even Liya beat you” but it’s true I have a horrible memory! 😀

  9. you keep telling me to blog and look at you..recycling your blog…boo

  10. MJ: haha, well you still got 2 🙂

    Liya: lol, I only meant it in regards to movies since you’ve stated you haven’t seen many 🙂

    Sobia: its not recycling! I just happened to put this blog post on fb as well

  11. YAY I know one (without looking it up)! 13 is from Love Actually! Hugh Grant as the Prime Minister.
    I love that movie and watched it about 5 times so far.
    I liked playing this.
    🙂

  12. Oh, why did I come here too late. They’re all done.

    Okay, I’m just acting; I didn’t know most of them anyways. Fun game!

  13. Mezba: yes, I got one!

    Blackolives: Its a great movie! And this quote is from one of my favourite scences 🙂

    Specs: hehe, 🙂

  14. 13 – Love actually (hugh grant was funny)

    3 – i remember this movie.. dunno the name.. 3 or 4 kids (boys)..

    4 – eastside high = lean on me

    dunno the rest

  15. the notre dame one: Rudy

  16. sophister: Correct! 🙂

  17. Pingback: Geeki’s top of 2009 – A retrospective « We are who we choose to be

Leave a comment